Public Intoxication in California

Bail Bond Store - Santa Clarita

Here in the state of California, we have Penal Code 674(f), which is the state’s law against public intoxication. Despite what the name suggests, it does not mean that a person cannot be drunk out in public. It actually is more specific than that.

People are allowed to go out and have fun drinking. The only time they can run into trouble with being drunk in public is when:

  1. The person is so intoxicated that he is unable to exercise care for the safety of himself or others.
  2. The person interferes with, obstructs, or prevents others from using streets, sidewalks, or other public ways.

If someone is doing either one of these 2 things, than he or she is considered drunk in public and can be arrested for disorderly conduct.


Being drunk in public in California is a misdemeanor crime. If someone is convicted for this crime, he or she can face a maximum of 6 months in county jail and/or a fine of no more than $1,000. One of the worst parts about being arrested for this crime, is that it will be permanently placed on your criminal record. This means that if you are looking for a job, your prospective employer would be able to see this charge against you.


The best way to avoid all of this, is to simply know your limits. You should know how much alcohol you can handle, and when to call it quits once you have reached that point. This will help prevent you from reaching a point where you could be a risk to yourself or anyone around you. After all, you went out to have fun, not to get into trouble.